Our own Susan Robbins wins National Award of Excellence!

posted Nov 16, 2016, 7:56 AM by Amy Ashley

Susan Robbins of Maine to Receive NIAAA Award of Excellence


INDIANAPOLIS, IN (November 15, 2016) — Susan Robbins, CMAAathletic administrator of Yarmouth High School and Harrison Middle School in Yarmouth, Maine, is the 2016 recipient of the Thomas E. Frederick Award of Excellence presented by the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA).

Robbins will receive the NIAAA Award of Excellence December 13 in Nashville, Tennessee, during banquet festivities at the 47th annual National Athletic Directors Conference conducted jointly by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) and the NIAAA.

The Thomas E. Frederick Award of Excellence is a prestigious award presented each year to an NIAAA member whose loyalty to the association and contributions to the profession represent excellence in achievement.

The award is named after the late Thomas E. Frederick, who served as NFHS assistant and associate director for 22 years before his retirement in 1989. Frederick was responsible for starting the National Athletic Directors Conference in 1971 as well as the NIAAA in 1977.

Susan Robbins, CMAA, is a 19-year veteran of high school administration in the state of Maine – the past 12 years at Yarmouth High School and Harrison Middle School in Yarmouth. During that time, she has become one of the state’s leaders in athletic administration and more than 40 Yarmouth teams have claimed state championships and sportsmanship awards.

Prior to joining the Yarmouth staff, Robbins was an athletic administrator at Poland (Maine) Regional High School for five years and the MacDuffie School in Springfield, Massachusetts, for two years. Robbins also coached field hockey and softball at both schools. 

Robbins, who earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Springfield (Massachusetts) College, has served several local leagues and conferences. She was president of the Western Maine Conference (WMC) and Campbell Football Conference, and was soccer liaison of both the WMC and the Triple C Conference.

At the state level, Robbins has held leadership roles for both the Maine Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (MIAAA) and the Maine Principals’ Association (MPA). As associate director of the MIAAA from 2007 to 2015, Robbins was the Leadership Training Institute coordinator, Awards Committee chair and Certification Committee chair. She continues to serve as a Leadership Training instructor at the state level. 

Robbins is chair of the MPA Field Hockey Committee and was the site director for the 2009, 2011 and 2013 MPA Field Hockey State Championships. She also serves on the MPA Volleyball, Football and Technology Committees, and she was site director for the 2015 Class C Outdoor Track State Championships. 

Robbins has made significant contributions to athletic administration at the national level as well. She has served on the NIAAA Awards Committee since 2011, including the past two years as committee chair, and serves on the Leadership Training Institute National Faculty and is an instructor for Leadership Training Course 710. Robbins was a member of the NIAAA Professional Development Task Force in 2013 and has attended every National Athletic Directors Conference since 2001. She was a member of the Blue Ribbon Panel at the 2004 conference in New Orleans.

Among her awards, Robbins received the MPA Unsung Heroine in Maine Sports Award and the MIAAA Keith Lancaster Professional Development Award – both in 2010. In 2011, she was the recipient of the Gerry Durgin Leadership Award, and she received the NIAAA Distinguished Service Award in 2012 and was named MIAAA Robert Lahey Athletic Director of the Year in 2013.