Hobey Baker Award

Congratulations to Oliver Prinn and Sydney Abbott!!


Contact Information:

Hobey Baker High School Character Award

Vin Contento, Maine Director




Hobey Baker High School Character Award winners announced for the state of Maine Boy’s and Girl’s ice hockey programs.

(Camden, Maine) The Maine Director of the Hobey Baker High School Character Award announced 49 state-wide winners in high school ice hockey today. 

Each year, a single senior hockey player from each participating high school is selected by his or her coach and celebrated by teammates, the school, and the community for outstanding individual performance on and off the ice.  Established in 2003, the award honors high school hockey players who exemplify the Hobey Baker ideal that "Character Builds Excellence." The Hobey Baker committee believes that character makes the game better and makes our players better.  Candidates for the High School Hobey Baker Award are selected by their coaches, based on coach-ability, strength of character, integrity, commitment, teamwork, community leadership, and outstanding sportsmanship.

“I am proud to announce this year’s winners and excited to recognize their character, commitment, and love of the game” said Vin Contento, Maine Director of the Hobey Baker High School Character Award.  Hobey Baker not only excelled in hockey, but in football as well at the collegiate level.  He had a tradition of making his way to his opponent’s locker room to shake their hands after each contest.  He despised dirty play and was penalized only twice in his college career.  “While Hobey Baker was a legendary athlete, he was also a true gentlemen.  It’s important to recognize the same values and traits in these high school athletes and not just their on-ice abilities”, Contento said.

Among the winners announced today were 16 girls and 33 boys from participating teams across the state.  Winners receive a personalized commemorative plaque – and a distinction shared by some of the top players to ever hit the ice: Hobey Baker winner.

This year’s award winners appear on page 2 and 3.

Please contact Vin Contento if you have additional questions.  Thank you.

Hobey Baker High School Character Award Winners - Girls

Award Winner


Kienna Haley

Biddeford / Thornton Academy / Wells

Alamea McCarthy


Abby Dresser

Cape Elizabeth / Waynflete / South Portland

Kiera Delahanty

Cheverus / Old Orchard / Kennebunk / Windham

Kate Kinley


Phoebe Richards

Gorham / Bonny Eagle / Massabesic / Westbrook / Fryeberg

Kerry Roberts


Sophia Hartley

Edward Little / Poland / Leavitt

Rebecca Lussier


Megan Reed

Mt. Ararat / Lisbon / Morse / Lincoln

Caitlin Huynh

Portland / Deering

Ariella Swett


Audrey Sheridan

Winslow / Gardiner / Brewer / Messalonskee / Erskine / Lawrence

Syndney Abbott

Yarmouth/ Freeport 

Charlotte Grimes

York / Traip Academy / Marshwood/ Noble

West Duffy

St. Dominic's Academy / Monmouth / Gray New Gloucester / Winthrop

Hobey Baker High School Character Award Winners - Boys

Award Winner


Jake Hirsch


Deryk Boles

Biddeford / Old Orchard Beach / Massabesic

Nick Lamprecht

Brewer/ Searsport

Thomas Labbe


Elias Libby

Camden Hills

Brett Hetrick

Cape Elizabeth

Oliver Prinn

Cheverus/ Yarmouth

Jakob Varney

Cony/ Monmouth/ Erskine/ Mt. Blue/ Richmond

Jack Keefe

Edward Little

Charlie Adams


Sean Doyle


Brady Sawyer


Ryan Moore


Morgan Tash

Hampden Academy

Alex Dunn

Houlton / Hodgdon  /GHCS

Jeremiah Vadas

John Bapst/ Hermon, Bangor Christian, Deer Isle-Stonington

Brady Morin

Kennebunk / Wells

Noah Grant

Lakes Region/ Fryeburg Academy/ Oxford Hills

Andon Cox


Cameron Littlefield

Maranacook / Winthrop / Spruce Mountain/ Hall-Dale/ Lawrence

Braden Butler

Marshwood / Noble / Traip / Sanford

Jacob Thomas


Sean Moore

Mt. Ararat / Lisbon / Morse

Aidan Rand

Old Town / Orono 

Nicholas Lenfest

Poland / Leavitt / GNG / Oakhill

Andrew Legere

Portland / Deering 

Ethan Shaw

Presque Isle

Connor L'Heureux


Cullen Adams

South Portland / Freeport / Wayneflete

Colin Casserly

St. Dominic's Academy

Colby Bilodeau

Thornton Academy

Cole Washburn

Windham / Westbrook / Bonny Eagle/ Sacopee

Ben Soares